Pittsburgh Steelers Elect Team Captains


The Pittsburgh Steelers resumed practice on Monday morning and first order of business now that the roster has been set was to elect the 2014 team captains.

The team elected four team captains; one defensive, one offensive and two special teams. Your 2014 Pittsburgh Steelers team captains are:

More from Steelers News

Troy Polamalu

Ben Roethlisberger

Shaun Suisham

Robert Golden

This is the third consecutive year Ben Roethlisberger was voted team captain by his teammates. He had previously been voted team captain for the 2008 and 2009 seasons but not for the 2010 season, which was the year he was suspended for the first four games of the season. Believe it or not this is Troy Polamalu’s first year of being voted team captain of his career with the Steelers. James Farrior had long been the Steelers’ defensive team captain until he was not re-signed by the team back in 2012. Brett Keisel spent the previous two seasons as the defensive team captain with Ryan Clark joining him last year.

The team doesn’t always pick special teams captains; in fact, they haven’t had special teams included in the team captains the last two seasons. This will be Shaun Suisham’s and Robert Golden’s first time serving as team captains for the Steelers.

Now we know the four guys who will meet up at midfield for the first coin toss to officially kick off the 2014 Steelers season.

Here we go Steelers! Here we go!