10 NFL records held by seven Pittsburgh Steelers

Running back Franco Harris #32 of the Pittsburgh Steelers. (Photo by Focus on Sport/Getty Images)
Running back Franco Harris #32 of the Pittsburgh Steelers. (Photo by Focus on Sport/Getty Images) /
7 of 7
Pittsburgh Steelers
Ben Roethlisberger #7 of the Pittsburgh Steelers (Photo by Justin K. Aller/Getty Images) /

Most passing yards per game in a single playoff season: 469

One of Big Ben’s most stellar performances, although Ben Roethlisberger came up short in this game, losing to Jacksonville 45-42. The primary reason he owns this record is that he only played one playoff game that season yet passed for 469 yards.

In the 2017 playoffs, Tom Brady passed for 505 yards against the Eagles, in a losing effort as well, and Bernie Kosar passed for 489 yards in the 1986 playoff game against the Jets. However, Kosar and Brady at least two playoff games, those seasons dropping their single playoff season yards per game average, leaving Big Ben with this record.

On a side note, Ben’s best single-game came in the regular season against the Colts when he passed for 522 yards.

Most consecutive QB wins starting a career: 15/16

Again, another record that is held by Ben Roethlisberger. This record is either 15 or 16, depending on how you count playoff games. Big Ben won his first 14 regular-season games starting September 25th, 2004 in Miami, a game delayed till later in the evening thanks to Hurricane Jeanne.

He won every regular-season game he started that year. Big Ben then went on to win an overtime game against the New York Jets, finally losing the AFC Championship game against the New England Patriots. So if you count the postseason, he won his first 15 starts. If you count the postseason separately, then his winning streak wrapped around into the 2005 season, winning his first two games in 2005 before losing a regular-season game. So if you only count regular-season games, his streak officially ended at 16; if you include the postseason, his streak ended at 15.

Steelers fantasy football: Players to start and sit in week 1. dark. Next

Oddly enough, the record has a stranger back story. Former steeler Mike Kruczek set the record in 1976, winning his first six games until Terry Bradshaw returned from an injury. Mike Tomczak later broke the record with ten consecutive wins set between 1986 and 1987. Tomczak did not play in the 1986 playoff game that year. Doug Flutie started at quarterback. Tomczak later went on to play for the Steelers from 1993-1999 only to have his record topped by Big Ben.