Steelers: Final roster cuts made


The Pittsburgh Steelers have announced their roster cuts and moves to trim the roster down to the league-mandated 53 men prior to today’s deadline.

The players released by the Steelers include running backs Jawon Chisholm and Josh Harris, defensive lineman Matt Conrath, Ethan Hemer and Mike Thorton. Safeties Jordan Dangerfield, Alden Darby and seventh-round draft pick Gerod Holliman.

Offensive lineman Reese Dismukes, B.J. Finney and surprisingly Doug Legursky are all cut. Cornerbacks Kevin Fogg and B.W. Webb are also released along with linebackers L.J. Fort, Shayon Green and Howard Jones. Wide receivers Shakim Phillips and Jarrod West were also released.

The two offensive linemen who were injured in Thursday’s preseason finale against the Carolina Panthers, Kelvin Palmer and Mitchell Van Dyk were placed on the Steelers’ Waived/Injured list.

The Steelers signed free agent cornerback Ross Cockrell to a one-year contract. Cockrell was released by the Buffalo Bills last month. Our very own Dominic DiTolla suggested the Steelers pick up Cockrell for the practice squad in his 53-man roster projections last week.

The Steelers will have the opportunity to sign up to 10 practice squad members after 1:00 pm EST on Sunday.

The Steelers 53-man roster to start the 2015 regular season will be:

Offense: Ben Roethlisberger, Michael Vick, Landry Jones at quarterback. Wide receivers Antonio Brown, Markus Wheaton, Darrius Heyward-Bey and Sammie Coates. Running backs DeAngelo Williams and Dri Archer. Fullbacks Will Johnson and Roosevelt Nix. Tight ends Heath Miller, Matt Spaeth and Jesse James.

The offensive line will include Maurkice Pouncey, Cody Wallace and Chris Hubbard at center, David DeCastro and Ramon Foster at guard and Kelvin Beachum, Marcus Gilbert and Alejandro Villanueva at tackle.

Le’Veon Bell and Martavis Bryant both start the season suspended and do not count against the 53-man roster. That means, of course, that roster moves will have to be made when each of them return from suspension.

Defense: Cameron Heyward, Steve McLendon, Cam Thomas, Daniel McCullers, Stephon Tuitt and L.T. Walton will be the Steelers’ defensive lineman. The linebackers are Arthur Moats, Bud Dupree, Anthony Chickillo, Ryan Shazier, Sean Spence, Terence Garvin, Lawrence Timmons, Vince Williams, Jarvis Jones and James Harrison.

The Steelers secondary includes safeties Mike Mitchell, Shamarko Thomas, Robert Golden, Will Allen and Ross Ventrone. Cornerbacks include William Gay, Cortez Allen, Brandon Boykin, Antwon Blake, Doran Grant and Ross Cockrell.

Special Teams: The Steelers special teams are punter Jordan Berry, kicker Josh Scobee and long snapper Greg Warren.

Dri Archer is listed as the team’s kick returner with Antonio Brown still listed as the Steelers’ punt returner.

Biggest surprises from the roster cuts I think include cutting running back Josh Harris and center Doug Legursky. I think fans are excited to see Villanueva and Chickillo both make the squad.

What are your first thoughts about the Steelers’ 53-man roster?

Next: Steelers Morning Huddle

More from Still Curtain